If you haven’t heard this, it is well worth reading. If you have, it’s worth reading again!!

Gospel Relevance

While preaching at this year’s Passion 2012 Conference, John Piper said that, after the Apostle Paul, St. Augustine has had more influence for Christianity than anyone else. Shocking words, to say the least, but what is more shocking (and encouraging) is Augustine’s testimony on how he came to faith in Christ.

He tells the story in his book Confessions, an autobiography written around AD 400. He had been listening to the preaching of Bishop Ambrose and, coming under great conviction of sin, met the Lord in an incredible way. He tells the story below.

So was I speaking and weeping in the most bitter contrition of my heart, when, lo! I heard from a neighboring house a voice, as of a boy or girl, I know not, chanting, and oft repeating, “Take up and read; Take up and read.” Instantly, my countenance altered . . . I arose…

View original post 136 more words

