**** This is an excerpt from Captivated by Christ: Focusing on Him published in 2008.

Some in the Christian community wallow in an on-going pity party that makes them look and sound as if they actually enjoy the paralysis of self-absorption. The sad truth is that many of us, perhaps in a subconscious desire for others to feel sorry for us or possibly out of laziness, actually revel in our “inability” to rise beyond our circumstances. In so doing, we relegate ourselves to lives of permanent discouragement and defeat. (I’ve found this problem to be particularly apparent among Christian singles—myself included.) 

Haven’t we all heard the depressing chorus of excuses people use to explain why they can’t live the kind of life Christ desires that we live: “I can’t help it. I have ADD.”;“I can’t find a suitable partner; good folks just aren’t out there.” ; or, “I didn’t have a good childhood; therefore, I can’t possibly be expected to …” ? If a life of “I can’t” and “here’s my problem” defines the transforming power of the gospel then who would want it? But the truth is that Christ’s gospel of grace is victorious and life changing. Those who accept God’s offer of salvation can expect to apply its transforming power in each aspect of life. Why then do believers often wallow in the pig pen and self–induced prison of helplessness? I’m convinced it’s because we find it easier to bemoan our circumstances than to be accountable and responsible for our actions (or lack thereof). 

Here’s the deal: we must get over ourselves! Jesus came that we might have abundant life (John 10:10). Living as victims is not God’s intention for us. His Word says that “we are new creatures in Christ and the old is passed away.” If this is the case then we should make progress in Him while putting our past behind us.  Since we have become a new creation in Christ our “issues” need not lead to paralysis and defeat. Abundant living is about claiming what Christ has already given us.  This transforming power needs to be evident in all of our attitudes. 

I think we would do well to revisit some of the old hymns. The message of “Victory in Jesus” is right on target: 

I heard about His healing,
Of His cleansing pow’r revealing.
How He made the lame to walk again
And caused the blind to see;
And then I cried, “Dear Jesus,
Come and heal my broken spirit,”
And somehow Jesus came and bro’t
To me the victory.

O victory in Jesus,
My Savior, forever.
He sought me and bought me
With His redeeming blood;
He loved me ere I knew Him
And all my love is due Him,
He plunged me to victory,
Beneath the cleansing flood.[1] 

In other words, we were bought with a precious price.  Jesus’ blood brings healing and power.   Our broken spirits are energized through Christ.  Ultimately He overcame even death to assure our victory.  I’m certain that He expects us to live victoriously based upon His great sacrifice.  We do not serve a defeated Savior so we must not lead defeated lives. 

Second Corinthians 2:14 says, “Thanks be to God, who always leads us in triumphal procession in Christ and through us spreads everywhere the fragrance of the knowledge of him.” It’s so important that we not only believe this message but that we be willing to live it.  Jesus said to “let your light shine before men, that they may see your good deeds and praise your Father in heaven” (Mark 5:16). This is because they are without hope apart from Him (Ephesians 2:12) and our empowered living points them to our hope. 

We as believers must seek victory in Christ instead of allowing circumstances to victimize us. This is a true character test and our answer will very much determine our future. We must stop sending the world the message that we serve a powerless Savior! We need to let our victorious spirit shine. When we do, we’ll show others the supreme value in living under God’s grace and according to His plan.


[1] Lyrics and Composer: Eugene M. Bartlett, Sr.